EASA requirements for continuing airworthiness are described in a Regulation known (at least until next amendment) as “Regulation (EU) No 1321/2014“, which is a a set of rules divided by different domain as below detailed.

The Regulation is mostly applicable to EU registered Aircraft (including any component for installation thereto), unless their regulatory safety oversight has been delegated to a third country and they are not used by an EU operator.

The set of rules within the Regulation are made of five ANNEXES (I, II, III, IV and V), also named rispectively:

  • EASA Part M
    Rules for the continuing airworthiness of the aircraft and its parts. It includes maintenance and conditions for the persons involved in such a continuing airworthiness management.  Its subpart G focuses on “engineering companies” known as “CAMO” who are responsible for the airworthiness of the aircraft. They monitor the aircraft, the engines, the components and plan the maintenance actions to ensure the aircraft is always “safe for flight”.
  • EASA Part 145
    Rules for the maintenance organisations that carry out the maintenance works on aircraft and components (including engines).
  • EASA Part 66
    Rules for the maintenance licenses for the engineers (mechanics and avionics) who work in the Part 145 Maintenance Organisations.
  • EASA Part 147
    Rules for the training organisations that are supposed to train the engineers (mechanics and avionics) who will work on aircraft and components within Part 145 Organizations.
  • EASA Part T
    Rules related to the continuing airworthiness of third country registered aircraft operated by EU operators or by operators residing in the EU. Dry-leased aircraft (for less than 7 months), which oversight has not been delegated to an EU Member State, falls into the Part-T. Here there are the requirements for the CAMO (approved in accordance with Part-M, subpart G) to become a CAMO-T (approved in accordance with Part-T, subpart G as well) for the management of the leased aircraft.

These are the rules that are strictly dedicated to the aircraft and its components during their “operative life”, therefore the period which is subsequent to the design and production phases (for which the EASA Part 21 rules).

Recently the EASA has published a consolidated version of the whole Continuing Airworthiness Regulation and you can just click below to accede to it.

This document includes the current applicable Implementing Rules (IRs), Acceptable Means of Compliance (AMC) and Guidance Material (GM) in a consolidated, easy-to-read format. It covers all the annexes of Regulation (EU) No 1321/2014, i.e. Part-M, Part-145, Part-66, Part-147 and Part-T and offers advanced navigation features through links and bookmarks as well as identification of General Aviation alleviations.

WARNING: The linked file is the latest consolidated up to date, published by the EASA (Revision June 2020)
Summary of the latest changes:
Commission Regulation (EU) 2018/1142 of 14 August 2018 amending Regulation (EU) No 1321/2014 as regards the introduction of certain categories of aircraft maintenance licences, the modification of the acceptance procedure of components from external suppliers and the modification of the maintenance training organisations’ privileges (Text with EEA relevance.